search for
Lüneburg, Niedersachsen, Germany




WELCOME TO THE HOLIDAY REGION LÜNEBURG!



In the more than 1050 year old salt and Hanseatic City of Lüneburg to experience history at every turn - in every corner of the city stone witnesses talk about the salt mine, the Lüneburg in the Middle Ages has made ​​them rich. Discover magnificent mansions, Gothic brick churches and stone screw and stepped gables and explore the city center and the historic harbor. It Lüneburg is a young, modern city with many shops and a vibrant, attractive bar scene. We look forward to your visit!



Homepage: www.lueneburg.de

Lüneburg - The modern city life in a historic setting
Everywhere in the Lüneburg downtown visitors encounter on the 1050jährige history of the city, whose main asset was once the salt. By trading with the then precious "white gold" Lüneburg during the Middle Ages to wealth and prestige. Today reflects the typical Hanseatic city with its historic atmosphere marked by North German Brick Gothic and beautiful gabled houses, the former wealth and intense as a Hanseatic trading member. Even with modern city life takes place in the medieval streets of the City of Salt and its place: Many well-stocked retail stores, cafes and bistros, and a lively pedestrian street in a pedestrian city center invite you to stroll and linger. With the various catering establishments Lüneburg has the highest number of pubs to Madrid Europe - from the local bar to the star restaurant is all there. Besides the picturesque promenade Schröderstraße water district developed in the historic port with the old crane and soaring above Ilmenau, centuries-old houses on Stintmarkt on warm summer evenings almost Mediterranean feel
 

Tourist Attractions

limestone mountain lake, view point, Lüneburg, District Lüneburg, Principality Niedersachsen, Germany,
Google Translation: Viewpoint at Kalkbruchsee the east of the Hanseatic city of Lüneburg. The lake is in the private ownership of the Lunenburg fishing club popular with locals, but also due to its central location as a recreational area very.
Limestone habitat, Luneburg, Luneburg Heath, Lower Saxony, Germany
Google Translation: The limestone is a so Gipshut and is located in the western part of the town of Lüneburg. To 1371, a castle of the Principality of Brunswick-Lüneburg was on the limestone mountain. In Lüneburg War of Succession the sovereign castle was destroyed along with the nearby Benedictine monastery of St. Michael. The latter moved to point out to the city. An obelisk reminds halfway up the mountain to the Garrison Church of the ducal troops from 1663 which was demolished in 1783 due to disrepair. The cannon on the plateau recently, she was fired when convicts have escaped from the nearby prison. The largest part of Kalkbergs mined several centuries and the gypsum used as a building material. In 1923, the mine due to depletion of the gypsum deposit was terminated. Today, the limestone has only a height of 56.3 m above sea level. Originally there were about 80 m. 1932 brought the then Lüneburg architect Edward Schlöbcke that the remaining balance of the Kalkbergs one of the first nature reserves in Germany was. Former quarry can be seen only on the steep cliffs. At the foot of Kalkbergs there is a small wetland with reed beds and wetland zones. The rock walls have only a very sparse vegetation with plants and animals. Covering an area of ​​3.6 hectares settled in the course of time, to 180 species of flowering plants, including some heat-and light-and lime-loving species that are actually native only in southern Central Europe. Some smaller caves are inhabited by bats.
Limestone mountain view point three, town of Lüneburg, Lüneburg Heath, Lower Saxony, Germany
Google Translation: The limestone is a so Gipshut and is located in the western part of the town of Lüneburg. To 1371, a castle of the Principality of Brunswick-Lüneburg was on the limestone mountain. In Lüneburg War of Succession the sovereign castle was destroyed along with the nearby Benedictine monastery of St. Michael. The latter moved to point out to the city. An obelisk reminds halfway up the mountain to the Garrison Church of the ducal troops from 1663 which was demolished in 1783 due to disrepair. The cannon on the plateau recently, she was fired when convicts have escaped from the nearby prison. The largest part of Kalkbergs mined several centuries and the gypsum used as a building material. In 1923, the mine due to depletion of the gypsum deposit was terminated. Today, the limestone has only a height of 56.3 m above sea level. Originally there were about 80 m. 1932 brought the then Lüneburg architect Edward Schlöbcke that the remaining balance of the Kalkbergs one of the first nature reserves in Germany was. Former quarry can be seen only on the steep cliffs. At the foot of Kalkbergs there is a small wetland with reed beds and wetland zones. The rock walls have only a very sparse vegetation with plants and animals. Covering an area of ​​3.6 hectares settled in the course of time, to 180 species of flowering plants, including some heat-and light-and lime-loving species that are actually native only in southern Central Europe. Some smaller caves are inhabited by bats.
St. John's Church, Hanseatic city of Lüneburg, Lüneburg Heath, Lower Saxony, Germany
Google Translation: The five-aisled hall church of St. John in the 14th Century belongs to the North German brick gothic. It was named after St. John the Baptist, Jesus. This is in the middle window of the high choir mapped which was donated in 1906 by the German Emperor. The nave has a length of 52.50 meters with a tower, it is even 65 meters long. This is high crown with 108.71. The church is 44 meters wide. The nave has ascending a height of 18-22 meters to the tower. The aisles are 15-16 meters high. The Leaning helmet differs in the head by 1.30 meters and 2.20 meters to the south to the west of Lot. 1289-1308, the first section of the present church was built. It produced three roughly equal naves in "new" hall design. 1333 it announced the expansion of the south of the choir vestry. Here, a chapter house for the priest was (now Elizabeth Chapel). 1365-1372 then saw the construction of the south aisle, once as an independent chapel, later as, both with separate annexes northern roofs. After a fire in 1406, rebuilt the tower and replaced the current appearance. The tower is mentioned in 1319 for the first time. In the years 1457-1463 it is the construction of the final page of the two choirs and galleries. South called for the City Council, therefore Council Lecturer and north of the Junker guild. The winning of a Gothic Rose Cross with hexagram in east gable dates from the 15th Century. North and south gable of the first phase. 1801 Bekronung poured down the original and was replaced by a new one. In 1833, the west gable of the clock gets its present form. To protect against the West storms the tower received a marked tendency towards the west, in the top of it is about 220 cm from the Lot. 1856 and 1909 to finance renovations "expendable beauties" sold. Its present painting, the church received in the years 1960-1964. Because wood worm damage the entire helmet was newly built 1970-1975. He received a steel-wood construction and a new crown (ball diameter 120 cm). 1985-1993 and then underwent extensive renovation of the tower shaft. At the same time community halls were built. The Renaissance-/Barockorgel was built 1551-53 by Hendrik Niehoff in Hertogenbosch. 1652 it is then overtaken by Friedrich Stellwagen from Lübeck and enlarged. Another reconstruction including widening by Matthias Dropa held 1712-15. 1852 re-conversion by Eduard Meyer. The organ gets 1922 pneumatic action by Oskar Walcker and restored again in 1953 by Rudolf von Beckerath. The main altar in the choir was originally from 1430 to 1485 perhaps in separate parts. The 14 procession images of the Passion of the Christ (1430) are certainly of Lüneburg Claves Klovesten, the 16 female characters of the bottom row (from 1469) by his son Volkmar Klovesten, the prophets in the predella and the ten apostles figures in the top row (from 1485 ) are probably from the workshop of Severin Tile. The prominent center of the altar is the Crucifixion, the left and right are scenes from the Passion and Easter story represented. Framed this cycle is up by a 10-apostles-series, down from 16 sacred female figures.
Load More Tourist Attractions View all Tourist Attractions

Popular Virtual Tours

Comfort Hotel Lüneburg , Lüneburg Melbeck , Luneburg Heath , Germany
Google translation : The 3 * Comfort Hotel Lüneburg is conveniently and quietly , just 8 km from the center of the medieval salt and Hanseatic City of Lüneburg located . The hotel is built in the style of a motel . Its guest rooms are light and friendly rooms in 3-star comfort . The rooms are equipped with a spacious bathroom with shower , hairdryer, satellite TV and free wireless Internet access. The rich breakfast buffet pampers guests in the morning. At the cozy Café provides daily newspapers , snacks and beverages 24 hours . A sauna completes the offer to the Comfort Hotel . Each room has a free private car park. The hotel has 35 bright, friendly , comfortable double and single rooms . Of these, 17 rooms with two single beds ( 90x200 cm) and 18 rooms with a double bed (140 x200 cm). All guest rooms are adapted for the disabled . Comfort Hotel Lüneburg • At the old plant 4 • D- 21406 Lüneburg • Germany • Phone : +49 (0) 4134/907797
Lüneburg Nudelkontor , Hanseatic city of Lüneburg , Lüneburg Heath , Lower Saxony, Germany ,
Google translation : Experience the Italian way of life in the midst of the old Hanseatic city of Lüneburg . The pasta shop in the historic city provides you with always fresh Italian delicacies. Specialty coffees and freshly squeezed orange juice invite you to linger , much to know about the changing pasta dishes. On the shelves you will find freshly made ​​pasta such as ravioli , noodles , spaghetti, gnocchi or ravioli. Also, parmesan cheese, Italian salami and prosciutto , see the showcase . Many Italian sweets and selected Italian wines round off the range . Opening times : Monday to Friday: 07:00 bis 18:00 clock clock , Sa from 07:00 bis 15:00 clock clock . Lüneburg Nudelkontor • The purchase 1 • D- 21335 Lüneburg • Tel +49 (0) 4131 31469
Restaurant , tapas bar, Sin Nombre , Lüneburg , Lüneburg Heath , Lower Saxony, Germany ,
Google translation : Who in the old Hanseatic city of Lüneburg fancy Spanish cuisine has come on Sin Nombre not over in the historic city . The Sin Nombre is one of the most popular places for tapas and steak lovers. On two floors , the attentive staff spoils you with Spanish specialties. Enjoy a Mediterranean ambience, traditional Spanish cuisine. Choose between many meat and fish dishes or the wide selection of tapas variations. A selection of wines are also available . Particularly noteworthy is the historic vaulted cellar with its quaint atmosphere. Mondays and Wednesdays there is an all you can eat tapas buffet. But here there is no advance booking no chance of a free space. The Sin Nombre opens for its guests from Monday to Friday 17.30 bis 23:00 clock clock . Restaurant Sin Nombre • At the Mountains 39 • D- 21335 Lüneburg • Phone: +49 ( 0) 4131/26 80 37
Monastery Liihe , Lüneburg Heath , Lower Saxony, Germany ,
Google translation : On the edge of Lüneburg in Lüneburg Heath is the monastery Liihe . Today's Protestant convent is a former Benidiktinerinnenkloster . It was founded in 1172 by Hildeswidis of Markboldestorp . The certificate of incorporation was issued by Bishop Hugo von Verden Verden. In the certificate of incorporation no confession of a monastic rule is defined , for this reason is to be assumed the form of a Kanonissenstiftes . It was not until the mid-14th Century is a complete acceptance of the Benedictine rules is documented . Was headed the monastery of the Abbess . With the introduction of the Reformation in the Principality of Lüneburg was at the behest of Duke Ernst the Confessor on 26 April 1528 for the first time the worship celebrated in German language . However, this was against the resistance of the nuns . In 1529 the provost goods of the ducal administration were assumed by a new certain sovereign Propst was used for the reaction to the Lutheran doctrines was ensured. But until full acceptance of the new doctrine , it was not until the year 1562nd The orthodox nuns contributed considerable resistance. In 1711, prompted Duke Georg -Ludwig the conversion of the monastery in a Protestant convent . The primary goal of the monastery was now the supply of unmarried daughters of Lüneburg landed gentry.
Load More Popular Virtual Tours View all Popular Virtual Tours

Recently posted Virtual Tours

Rectory and church, Lüne , Hanseatic city of Lueneburg , Lower Saxony, Germany ,
Google translation : The monastery Liihe here in the panoramic image , the parish and the monastery church is today a Protestant convent . The former Benidiktinerinnenkloster was founded in 1172 . Since the certificate of incorporation no confession of a monastic rule in lay assumes the form of a Kanonissenstiftes . It was not until the mid-14th Century is a complete acceptance of the Benedictine rules is documented . Was headed the monastery of the Abbess . With the introduction of the Reformation in the Principality of Lüneburg was at the behest of Duke Ernst the Confessor on 26 April 1528 for the first time the worship celebrated in German language . However, this was against the resistance of the nuns . In 1529 the provost goods of the ducal administration were assumed by a new certain sovereign Propst was used for the reaction to the Lutheran doctrines was ensured. But until full acceptance of the new doctrine , it was not until the year 1562nd The orthodox nuns contributed considerable resistance. In 1711, the conversion of the monastery was in a Protestant convent .
Comfort Hotel Lüneburg , Lüneburg Melbeck , Luneburg Heath , Germany
Google translation : The 3 * Comfort Hotel Lüneburg is conveniently and quietly , just 8 km from the center of the medieval salt and Hanseatic City of Lüneburg located . The hotel is built in the style of a motel . Its guest rooms are light and friendly rooms in 3-star comfort . The rooms are equipped with a spacious bathroom with shower , hairdryer, satellite TV and free wireless Internet access. The rich breakfast buffet pampers guests in the morning. At the cozy Café provides daily newspapers , snacks and beverages 24 hours . A sauna completes the offer to the Comfort Hotel . Each room has a free private car park. The hotel has 35 bright, friendly , comfortable double and single rooms . Of these, 17 rooms with two single beds ( 90x200 cm) and 18 rooms with a double bed (140 x200 cm). All guest rooms are adapted for the disabled . Comfort Hotel Lüneburg • At the old plant 4 • D- 21406 Lüneburg • Germany • Phone : +49 (0) 4134/907797
Lüneburg Nudelkontor , Hanseatic city of Lüneburg , Lüneburg Heath , Lower Saxony, Germany ,
Google translation : Experience the Italian way of life in the midst of the old Hanseatic city of Lüneburg . The pasta shop in the historic city provides you with always fresh Italian delicacies. Specialty coffees and freshly squeezed orange juice invite you to linger , much to know about the changing pasta dishes. On the shelves you will find freshly made ​​pasta such as ravioli , noodles , spaghetti, gnocchi or ravioli. Also, parmesan cheese, Italian salami and prosciutto , see the showcase . Many Italian sweets and selected Italian wines round off the range . Opening times : Monday to Friday: 07:00 bis 18:00 clock clock , Sa from 07:00 bis 15:00 clock clock . Lüneburg Nudelkontor • The purchase 1 • D- 21335 Lüneburg • Tel +49 (0) 4131 31469
Restaurant , tapas bar, Sin Nombre , Lüneburg , Lüneburg Heath , Lower Saxony, Germany ,
Google translation : Who in the old Hanseatic city of Lüneburg fancy Spanish cuisine has come on Sin Nombre not over in the historic city . The Sin Nombre is one of the most popular places for tapas and steak lovers. On two floors , the attentive staff spoils you with Spanish specialties. Enjoy a Mediterranean ambience, traditional Spanish cuisine. Choose between many meat and fish dishes or the wide selection of tapas variations. A selection of wines are also available . Particularly noteworthy is the historic vaulted cellar with its quaint atmosphere. Mondays and Wednesdays there is an all you can eat tapas buffet. But here there is no advance booking no chance of a free space. The Sin Nombre opens for its guests from Monday to Friday 17.30 bis 23:00 clock clock . Restaurant Sin Nombre • At the Mountains 39 • D- 21335 Lüneburg • Phone: +49 ( 0) 4131/26 80 37
Load More Recently posted Virtual Tours View all Recently posted Virtual Tours